Healing of the Heart Leads to Romance

Deb’s Dozen: Ruby Works to Repay Father’s Debts—Sheriff
Truett is Suspicious—Enter Romance.

Loree Lough has written another lovely romance. How she manages to come up with new and different characters and situations continually amazes me. Healing of the Heart is a delightful story of regret, reparations, and romance.

Ruby McCoy and her mother are new to Fairplay and immediately move into the newly renovated, biggest mansion in town. No one knows anything about them except their advance man has arranged for all the work and furnishings they require. Ruby knows she’s there to repay the debts her outlaw father incurred and to right the wrongs he did when he and his gang ravaged the town. Her mother, who fancies herself a society lady, still does not understand what drives Ruby to these actions. They both are relieved Fairplay is the last town they’ll have to visit/live in to fulfill their mission.

Sheriff Rex Truett is suspicious of the new folks in town. Since there is little information about the ladies, he is insatiably curious as to their background and reasons for moving to Fairplay. He is puzzled by Ruby. Why does a woman who can afford the biggest mansion in town do much of the work around the house? How does a society lady know how to get stains out of clothing for example, much less how to stack wood?

These two characters are fairly believable, but the most delightful character is Ruby’s mother, Cordelia. She’s so prim and proper, yet amusingly droll. To keep her in line, Ruby pays her an allowance so she can buy ribbons and hats and other fripperies. You can guess the ending at the beginning, but how things come about is an interesting read—not your usual romance. The book itself is attractive, with a glossy cover and lovely cream paper. I’d give Healing of the Heart 4 stars.

Healing of the HeartLoree Lough is an ultra-prolific writer with “nearly five million 4-and 5-star books in circulation.” Healing of the Heart is the third in the Secrets on Sterling Street series. Loree lives in Baltimore and enjoys her “grandorables” along with the rest of her family, She is as personable as her characters or more so, and she loves interacting with her fans on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. She also answers every email sent to Loree@LoreeLough.com personally.

Loree and Whitaker House gave me a copy of Healing of the Heart, but I was in no way obligated to write a review. If you click on the link and purchase this book, I receive a small fee.

Mystery & Suspense of the Highest Caliber

Deb’s Dozen: DiAnn Mills’ Deep Extraction is Mystery & Suspense of the Highest Caliber

Mystery & Suspense is one of my fave genres, and DiAnn Mills one of my fave authors in that genre. Deep Extraction is DiAnn’s latest in the FBI Task Force series.

You’d think a pacemaker would save someone’s life—in Nathan Moore’s case, one killed him. Special Agent Tori Templeton has a dilemma—she’s the agent on call when the death is discovered, but she is also a very good friend of Sally Moore, the victim’s wife and prime suspect. Tori and Max Dublin, her crusty partner, respond to the scene.

Tori is disturbed to learn Sally’s first call was to Cole Jeffers, the Moore’s landscaper, instead of to her. Max immediately assumes Sally and Cole are having an affair—a standard solution to an age-old situation. Add to the mix two teenage sons: one an angel and the other depressed and defiant.

So starts the trail of twists and turns and twists upon turns as Tori and Max attempt to solve the murder—the first twist is the Cole Jeffers has reactivated as a Federal Marshall and is assigned to the case.

You will not be able to put down the book as every chapter brings a new development not anticipated (at least by me) in the previous chapter. The characters become very real—they each have problems they’re trying to overcome and I found myself rooting for them to do so. Tori, Max, and Cole are especially believable, as is Nathan, the Moore’s son. The pace is fast, but steady. One thing for sure—you’ll never be bored nor will you guess the conclusion. Five stars again, DiAnn.

Mystery & SuspenseDiAnn Mills is a multi-published, multi-awarded author—her books have appeared on the Christian Booksellers Association and Evangelical Christian Publishers Association bestseller lists. She’s won two Christy Awards. DiAnn is a co-director of the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference, teaches, and does research at the FBI Citizens Academy. She and her husband live in Houston, Texas.

DiAnn Mills and Tyndale House gave me a copy of Deep Extraction, but I was in no way obligated to write a favorable review.

A Journey of the Heart Leads to Adventure

Deb’s Dozen: He’s off to be a soldier; she follows to become a wife.

I was given three of the books of Colleen Coble’s Journey of the Heart series, and I liked them enough I’ll have to find the other three. This was the first series Colleen wrote and they were republished in 2015. They’re easy reads—light and predictable—and happily ever afters. Nevertheless, I enjoyed them.

Book 2, A Heart’s Obsession, begins the story of Rand and Sarah. After a misunderstanding, Rand heads west to Fort Laramie to be a “bluecoat.” Sarah, left behind, is hurt that Rand would leave her. When Sarah’s father dies, Sarah heads West to evade her brother’s plans to marry her off to Ben Crofter, the bounder who caused the problems in the first place. You’ll enjoy the story of her trip and her adventures once she arrives at the Fort and finds things not at all what she expected.

Book 3, A Heart’s Danger, continues Rand and Sarah’s story. Sarah is managing to survive in the hostile environment of the West—hostile because of the ever-present danger from Indians as well as the woman Sarah found Rand was engaged to marry. To top things off, who should arrive on the scene but the scoundrel, Ben Crofter. You’ll enjoy the machinations of Jessica, Brad’s fiancée, and Ben to mess up the lives of Sarah and Brad.

Book 4, A Heart’s Betrayal, finds Emmie Crofter, Ben’s sister, heading West to be a helper to Sarah. She’d been married, but her husband, Monroe, had died after only three months of marriage. Then to Emmie’s dismay, she finds out Monroe had another wife and a child—she is left with nothing but the few things she personally brought to the “marriage.” Now disgraced, she heads West to escape and to find a new life.

These are short, cozy stories to read. The characters are real and you come to care for them quickly. I’m off to find Books 1, 5 and 6! Four stars.

Journey of the HeatColleen Coble is a best-selling author with many awards and sales of over two million books. She and her husband, Dave, live in Indiana. You’ll want to read Colleen’s other series—her other series are even better and more intriguing than this, her first.

A friend gave me these three books, so I was in no way obligated to write a favorable review.